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POLICY:

SOCP will audit claims for damages to personal property (excluding vehicles). The
audit will be subject to approval by DHS Office of Financial Services when such damage
results from an accident occurring in connection with the person’s employment in
SOCP. The damage must have occurred during the performance of the employee’s
official duties or other activity or functions of the homes. All such claims shall be filed in
accordance with procedures established by the Office of Financial Services.

Responsibility

Action

Claimant

Safety Office

Office of
Financial
Services

Submit claims to the Safety Office for processing using the Property
Damage Claim form (Attachment A). All information must be filled in
or the information will be returned to the claimant for completion.

The claim filed shall be limited to the actual costs as substantiated
by receipts for replacement of the damaged item or to the best
estimate of the cost for replacement or repair of the damage. The
Office of Financial Services shall base all claims on reasonable
costs that shall be subject to review.

Send claims to the Office of Financial Services together with
SOCP’s letter of recommendation.

Review the submitted documentation to determine if the claim is
valid and determine if there is a debt owed to the State of Oregon by
the claimant. In determining whether a debt exists, the Oregon
Department of Revenue will be contacted.




Claims will not be approved under the following circumstances:

1.

2.

Where the amount sought exceeds the funds appropriated for this purpose.

Where the person incurring injury or damage has been compensated by liability
insurance or otherwise.

Where the cause or occasion of the accident resulting in injury or damage is
chargeable to the conduct or negligence or the party injured or damaged.

Where a suit or an action of law against a private person, on a cause based upon
the same facts stated in the claim, would be barred by any appropriate statute of
limitations.

Where the claims for damage to a watch and/or watchband exceeds $50.00. In this
case reimbursement will be made at $50.00.

Where the claim for damage to an article of clothing/sundry item such as a blouse,
shirt, pants, or similar item exceeds $25.00. In this case, reimbursement will be
made at $25.00.

Where damage is to jewelry, radios, cell phones, non-prescription sunglasses or
other personal items or clothing deemed unnecessary to perform the job or
specifically addressed by SOCP or house policy.

Where replacement cost exceeds original cost as documented by original purchase
receipt and replacement receipt.

Attachment A: Property Damage Claim
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