
 

Seniors and People with Disabilities 
Action Request 

Transmittal 
 

Mary Lee Fay 
 Number: APD-AR-12-024 

Authorized Signature  Issue Date: 6/18/2012 
 
Topic: Developmental Disabilities Due Date:  
 
Subject: Adult Foster Home (AFH-DD) Notice of Exit Requirements 
 
Applies to (check all that apply): 

 All DHS employees County Mental Health Directors 
 Area Agencies on Aging  Health Services 
 Children, Adults and Families  Seniors and People with Disabilities 
 County DD Program Managers Other (please specify): SPD County 

Relations Unit, CDDP AFH-DD licensors, 
CDDP service coordinators, AFH-DD 
providers, SEIU, DRO, Office of 
Administrative Hearings.  

 
Action Required:  
 
Oregon Administrative Rule 411-360-0190 (6), (14)(a), and Oregon Revised Statute 
443.738 (11)(a-c) and ORS 443.739 (18) state that a written Notice of Exit is required 
for the exit, transfer or discharge of an individual from an AFH-DD residence. 
Individuals will be informed of their rights to an Administrative Hearing upon receipt of 
a written Notice of Exit. The individual, legal representative/ guardian and service 
coordinator will be provided copies of the written notice of exit, 30 days prior to the exit 
or transfer, except in cases of medical emergency or behaviors which present an 
imminent risk of danger to the individual or others. When an exit or transfer occurs as a 
result of a medical emergency or behavior that poses an imminent danger to the 
individual or others, the notice does not have to be provided 30 days in advance, but a 
written notice must be provided as soon as possible under the circumstances. 
 
Effective immediately the attached Notice of Exit form (SDS 0719DD) is required for all 
exits, transfers or discharges from the AFH-DD, for those who are receiving care, 
except for Multnomah County, which has, it’s own forms and procedures for the Adult 
Care Home Program.  
 
 
 

DHS 0078 (01/09) 

https://apps.state.or.us/Forms/Served/se0719dd.doc?CFGRIDKEY=SDS%200719DD,,AFH/DD%20Mandatory%20Written%20Notice%20of%20Exit%20or%20Transfer,se0719dd.doc,,,,,,,https://apps.state.or.us/cf1/DHSforms/Forms/Served/-,,https://apps.state.or.us/cf1/DHSforms/Forms/Served/


 

 
SDS 0719DD includes the following: 

• Mandatory Written Notice of Exit or transfer 
• Notification of Hearing Rights titled: What to do you do when you do not agree 

with a written Notice of Exit 
• Request for Administrative Hearing Form 
 

The entire document must be provided to each individual receiving notice, to assure 
that the notice is legally sufficient, hearing rights are provided at the time the Notice of 
Exit is given, and individuals have timely access to a request for an Administrative 
Hearing.  
 
Notice of exit or transfer shall only be given for the following reasons as indicated on 
the mandated form.  
 

• Relocation of the AFH-DD.  
• The AFH-DD license has been revoked, surrendered is not renewed or is 

suspended. 
• The AFH-DD residence will be rented sold, leased.  
• The individual fails to make payment for care. 
• The ISP team mutually decides that the transfer is in the individual’s best 

interest,    
          and all ISP team members agree.  

• The individual’s care needs exceed the provider’s ability 
• Behavior, which poses an imminent danger to the individual or others.  
• Medical emergency, including an increase in level of care 
 

Individuals who are exited for medical emergencies, or behavior that poses a danger to 
self or others, shall be granted an Administrative Hearing upon written request within 7 
days of the transfer or exit. The AFH-DD provider must hold a space available for the 
individual who is appealing pending receipt of a final Administrative Order.  
 
Individual’s who request an Administrative Hearing for reasons other than medical or 
behavioral emergency, must continue to receive the same services until the hearing is 
resolved. If the individual requests a hearing while still residing in the AFH-DD, they 
retain the right to receive services from that AFH-DD provider until the hearing is 
resolved, unless the home is closing due to relocation, revocation, surrender, non-
renewal or suspension of the license.   
 
To request an Administrative Hearing page three of the attached form must be 
completed and submitted to:  
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Service Coordinator Specialist, ODDS 
500 Summer Street NE, E-10 
Salem, Or 97301 
 
The Department of Human Services must receive the postmarked request within 45 
days from the Date of the Notice of Exit. If a request for an Administrative Hearing is 
not received within 45 days of the Notice of Exit, the individual may lose their right to a 
hearing.    
 
SDS 0719DD can be located on the DHS forms server. 
 
https://apps.state.or.us/cf1/FORMS/
 
 
Reason for Action: To assure that Notice of Exit requirements are met per Oregon 
Administrative Rule and Oregon Revised Statute.  
 
Field/Stakeholder review: Yes  No 

If yes, reviewed by:  Disability Rights Oregon 
 
If you have any questions about this action request, contact: 
Contact(s): Shelly. M. Reed, Corissa Neufeldt 
     Phone: 503-945-5828      503-945-6742 Fax: 503-373-7274 

     E-mail: Shelly.M.Reed@state.or.us    /   corissa.neufeldt@state.or.us  
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https://apps.state.or.us/cf1/FORMS/
mailto:Shelly.M.Reed@state.or.us
mailto:corissa.neufeldt@state.or.us
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     Aging and People with Disabilities 

Adult foster Home for Developmental Disabilities 
Mandatory Written Notice of Exit  

or Transfer 
A 30-day written notice is required, unless the exit or transfer is due to a medical emergency or behavioral issues 
presenting imminent danger to the individual or others in the home, in which case the notice may be less than 
thirty days; however written notice must be provided as soon as possible under the circumstances.      

Notice issued to (name of individual):       Date:       
 From (name of AFH-DD licensed provider):       
   Street address of AFH-DD:       
 City, state, ZIP:       Email address:       
   Telephone number of AFH-DD licensed provider:       
 Copies of this notice have been issued to the following: 
Name Relationship Address 
      Service coordinator       
      Legal guardian       
                  
 Date of proposed move, transfer or exit:        
 Resident is relocating to (if known):        
 This action is being taken because of (check all appropriate boxes): 
Based on: 
OAR 411-360 0190(6)(a)(A-E),411-360-0190 (6)(b), 411-360-0170 (9)(s), 411-360-0190 (14)(a-b), ORS 443.739 (18), 443.738 (11)(b) 
   
 

Behavior poses an imminent danger to 
the individual or others  

Mutual ISP team decision that a transfer  
is in the individual's best interest 

   
 

License is revoked, surrendered or not 
renewed or is suspended  

Medical emergency, including an increase  
in level of care 

  Relocation of the AFH-DD  Non-payment for care 
   
 

Individual's care needs exceed  
the providers ability  

Licensee intends to rent, sell or lease the 
AFH-DD residence 

 Indicate specific reason for notice:       

   You, the resident, have the right to an informal conference and administrative hearing with the Department of Human 
Services (DHS) if you are in disagreement with this notice. Individuals requesting a hearing while still in the AFH-DD, 
maintain the right to remain in the adult foster home until such time as the final order is received. If the exit is due to medical 
emergency or behavior posing imminent danger to yourself or others, the AFH-DD provider must reserve your room in the 
AFH-DD until receipt of the final order. Hearings requested based on a  medical emergency or behavior posing imminent 
danger must occur within seven days of the exit. To request a hearing, please complete the attached Hearing request  
Form (DHS 0443). 
        
Signature of licensed provider  Date 
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What to do when you do not agree with a written Notice of Exit 
    
a. 
 

You have the right to appeal the Notice of Exit by requesting a formal hearing, as is your right under Oregon law 
 411-360-0170(9)(s) and ORS 443.738. 

  b. 
 
 
 

If you want a hearing, you must request it on time. The Department human Services must receive your  postmarked 
within 45 days of the Notice of Exit. Department of Human Services (DHS) must receive your postmarked 
request within 45 days from the Date of Notice of Exit, given at the top of page one. If you do not ask for a 
hearing within the 45 days, you may lose your right to have one.  

  c. 
 
 
 

Hearings are held before an Administrative Law Judge who works for the Office of Administrative Hearings, not for 
DHS. Hearings are conducted under rules that start at OAR 137-003-0501 and statutes that start at ORS 183.411.  
At the hearing, you can explain why you do not agree with the Notice of Exit. You can have people testify for you, and 
you may submit materials and your case file information related to this matter which is called “the record”. 

  d. 
 

To request a hearing, you must fill out the attached form titled AFH-DD Notice of Exit or Transfer Administrative 
Hearing Request. Your service coordinator or other designated individual can help you fill out the form if needed. 

 Forms must be returned to:  
  Service Coordinator Specialist, ODDS 
  500 Summer Street NE, E-10 
  Salem, OR 97301 
   e. 
 

You will receive a written Notice of Hearing from the Office of Administrative hearings, which tells you the date, time 
and place of your hearing. 

  f. 
 

You can request a delay of your hearing, but you must contact the hearing coordinator listed on your Notice of Hearing 
immediately. Only the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) can postpone a hearing. 

  g. 
 
 
 

If you do not ask for a hearing on time, withdraw a hearing request or do not appear at your hearing, the agency’s file 
and anything you have submitted will be the record of your case and the Notice of Exit will be the department’s final 
decision, called the Final Order by Default. You will not get a separate Order by Default. The record submitted is used 
to support DHS’s decision upon default. 

  h. You may attend your hearing in person or by telephone. 
  i. 
 
 

At the hearing, you may have a  legal representative or friend help you. DHS does not pay the costs for witnesses or 
an attorney. You may be able to get free legal services from the Disability Rights Oregon or your local Legal Aid Office 
may be able to assist you if you have limited financial resources. 

  j. 
 

The Administrative Law Judge will not make a decision at the hearing. The decision will be in writing and sent to you 
within 45 days following the hearing. The written decision is called the Final Order. 

  k. 
 
 

If you disagree with the decision in the final order, you may appeal the final order under ORS 183.482 if you file a 
petition in the Oregon Court of Appeals. The appeal must be filed within 60 days of the date of the Final Order. 
 If you withdraw a hearing request or miss a hearing, the appeals deadline is described in the Dismissal Order. 

  l. 
 
 
 

If you request a hearing while still residing in the AFH-DD for which you are appealing the Notice of Exit, you may 
continue to reside in that AFH-DD and continue to receive supports from that AFH-DD provider, unless the provider 
is not renewing their license, the license has been revoked or suspended, or your current placement results in an 
immediate risk to the health and safety of yourself or others in the home. 

  m. 
 
 
 

If you have received a notice of exit due to a medical or behavioral emergency which places yourself or others at risk, 
you may be granted a hearing within 7 days of the Department’s receipt of your request for Administrative hearing. 
The provider must maintain your room at the foster home, if you were exited or transferred for medical or behavioral 
risks, until the final order is issued. 

   



 
      Aging and People with Disabilities 

AFH-DD Notice of Exit or Transfer Administrative 
Hearing Request 

   
If you want a hearing regarding a Notice of Exit or Transfer from an Adult Foster Home for individuals with developmental 
disabilities (AFH-DD), you or your legal representative (guardian) must fill out this form within 45 days of the date the 
notice is issued. You may also get assistance to complete the form from your Service Coordinator or other representative 
such as an advocate or other legal counsel. 
 Claimant or claimant's representative completes this part 
Name of claimant (individual receiving notice):       
Date of birth:       Phone:       
Address:       
Name of AFH-DD provider issuing notice:       

 I did not receive written notice  I received written notice Date of notice:       
I am asking for a hearing because I do not agree with the decision to: 

 Exit the AFH-DD  Transfer to a new AFH-DD  Relocate with AFH-DD provider 
Briefly explain why you disagree with the Notice of Exit or Transfer (attach additional sheets as needed): 
      

 Check the box if your Notice of Exit or Transfer was due to: 
 Medical emergency  Behavior posing imminent danger 

If you checked one of the boxes above you are entitled to an expedited hearing, within 7 days from the 
date the department receives this request for an Administrative Hearing. 
 Name of person other than claimant completing this form:       
Phone number:       
Address:       
Relationship to claimant (guardian, legal counsel, advocate):       
Signature:  
 The administrative law judge may conduct the hearing by phone. In a telephone hearing, the 
administrative law judge participates by phone. You may participate in your administrative hearing from 
the developmental disability office or another location. 
    
Signature of claimant:   Date:       
   Department of Human Services (DHS) completes this part 
DHS representative for this matter:       Phone:       
Issue code:       Date:       
Date of notice: 
      

Cost center: 
      

Date of initial hearing request: 
      

Date 0443DD rec'd by DHS: 
      

Case number, prime number or DD followed by last 4 digits of SSN:       
Claimant speaks English?  Yes   No Claimant primary language:       
Alternate format?  Yes      No          If yes, specify below:  

 Braille    Audio tape  Large print  Diskette  Oral presentation 
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