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Discussion/Interpretation: Effective July 1, 2010, orientation class is required for 
license-exempt child care providers.  
 
Due to the passage of HB 2868 by the 2010 Oregon Legislature, child care providers 
who are not subject to certification or registration with the Child Care Division of the 
Employment Department, (also known as ‘license-exempt’ or ‘Family, Friend and 
Neighbor-FFN’ providers), who are approved to receive payment by the Department of 
Human Services (DHS) after June 30, 2010, are required to attend a Child Care 
Provider Orientation provided by the department or a Child Care Resource and 
Referral Agency (CCR&R) within 90 days of being approved. Local CCR&R agencies 
have been offering voluntary orientations since January 2007. 
 
Additionally, after June 30, 2010, a license-exempt provider who resumes providing 
care after a break of one year or more must attend the Child Care Provider Orientation 
within 90 days of approval for payment. 

http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/selfsufficiency/publications/ss-pt-10-009-attach.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/selfsufficiency/publications/ss-pt-10-010-attach.pdf
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Orientations are required to be held at least quarterly and must include, but is not 
limited to, information about:  
(a) DHS listing, vouchers and payments,  
(b) Child care provider rights and responsibilities,  
(c) Enhanced rate training options,  
(d) USDA Food program, and  
(e) Other resources available to child care providers. 
 
Training/Communication Plan:   

• A mass mailing notice will be sent to all clients currently receiving child care to 
inform them of the new provider requirements (see attached). 

• Information about the requirement to attend the child care orientation is being 
added to the DHS 7494 Child Care Provider Listing form. 

• Information has been added to the 3/2010 revision of the Child Care Provider 
Guide (DHS 7492) and will be added to the next revision of the Parent’s Guide to 
Child Care (DHS 7478). 

• Beginning July 1, 2010, an automatic notice will be sent to all new providers 
listed by the Direct Pay Unit (DPU). (See attached). 

• A Y/N field will be added to DPPM to show if the provider attended the orientation 
with a date field to show when the orientation was completed. 

 
Local/Branch Action Required:  
The local branch offices will need to inform their clients about the requirement if they 
know the family is choosing a license-exempt provider who has never been listed on 
the DPPM screen.  (See ‘List Date’ field on DPPM. If the field is empty, or if no record 
exists, they have not been listed and may be required to attend an orientation.) 
 
Clients who need information about selecting a new provider or providers who need 
information about child care training should be referred to their local Child Care 
Resource and Referral Agency. This information is available in the 3/2010 revision of 
the Child Care Provider Guide (DHS 7492) beginning on page 65. The guide is also 
available online at the Child Care section. 
 
Central Office Action Required: 
Completed. 
 
Field/Stakeholder review: Yes  No 

If yes, reviewed by: Service Employees International Union (SEIU), Child Care 
Resource & Referral (CCR&R) agencies, Oregon Child Care Resource & 
Referral Network (OCCRRN), Child care provider groups. 

http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/selfsufficiency/publications/ss-pt-10-012-letter.doc
http://dhsforms.hr.state.or.us/Forms/Served/DE7492.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/selfsufficiency/publications/ss-pt-10-012-notice.doc
http://dhsforms.hr.state.or.us/Forms/Served/DE7492.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/DHS/children/publications/index.shtml#childcare


SS-PT-10-012 DHS 0079 (01/09) 

Filing Instructions: 461-165-0180  
FSM Child Care Assistance, Section G  
 
If you have any questions about this policy, contact: 
Contact(s): Shiela Carter and Cassie Day 
     Phone: 503-945-6110, 503-945-5729 Fax: 503-373-7032 
     E-mail: Shiela.a.carter@state.or.us,  cassie.a.day@state.or.us  

 
 

http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/selfsufficiency/publications/ss-pt-10-009-attach.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/selfsufficiency/publications/ss-pt-10-010-attach.pdf

