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Message: Two new notices have been developed and will be sent automatically
each month to households affected by these changes.

In FS households containing a child who is turning age 2 and receiving a dependent
care deduction greater than $175, the notice will inform the household of a change in
the allowable deduction. The maximum allowable deduction for a child under age 2 is
$200/month and for those age 2 and over $175/month. This new notice will inform
households receiving the maximum deduction of a change which will result in a
reduction in FS benefits. The notice will be sent automatically on the 9" of the month
in which the child is turning age 2. It will be sent to those households who will receive
a reduction in benefits. The computer will automatically change the $200 to $175 on
affected cases. No action is required by the field although workers may receive calls.
Central office has determined there are fewer than 25 cases statewide each month
who will receive this notice.

All FS households containing a child who is turning age 18 will receive a notice
informing the household that the earned income of an 18 year old must be reported to
the agency. There are two notices, one covering MRS/SRS households and one
covering CRS households. The notice reviews the reporting requirements, lists the
income reporting limit for SRS and also discusses the possibility of involvement with
OFSET. The notice will be sent automatically on the 10" of the month in which the
child is turning 18. No action is required by the field although workers may receive
calls and additional report forms.




If you have any questions about this information, contact:

Contact(s): | Anne Hilgers (503) 945-6105
Dawn Myers (503) 945-7018
Eliza Devlin (503) 947-5105

Rosanne Richard (503) 945-5826
Sandy Ambrose (503) 945-6092
Sarah Lambert (503) 945-6220

Phone: Fax:

E-mail:




FS Reduced; Child Care Deduction Change

Our records show you are getting a child care deduction for
HHHHH . The child is turning two years old
this month.

Food Stamp law limits the child care deduction for a person age 2 or
older. The limitis $175 a month. Your deduction has been more than
$175 a month. We will use the lower deduction to figure your food
stamps starting #####H#H#HHH#.  Your benefits will be $####.

Oregon Administrative Rules: 461-160-0040, 461-160-0410 and
461-160-0430

Please contact your local office if you have questions.
If you disagree with this action, you have the right to a hearing. You

also have the right to continued benefits. Read the back of this form
for more information.



FSXXXXX (Child Turning age 18)
Computer initiated when a CH or IA turns 18 on a case in CRS or MRS
Readability is 6.2

Our records show XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX is turning 18 this month. Per
Oregon law he or she is now an adult.

This letter is to let you know how turning 18 affects your food stamp case. You and the
child need to know:

e Food stamps counts the earned income of all persons age 18 and older. Please call your
worker in the next 10 days to report their earned income if they are working.

e The Food Stamp program uses special rules for students. Students in school after high
school are eligible for Food Stamps if they meet certain rules. Please call your worker in
the next 10 days if this child is a college student.

e The Oregon Food Stamp Employment and Transition (OFSET) program helps
people with work search activities. He or she may need to work with OFSET if
they are no longer attending school. They will get another letter if they need to
do work search activities.

e All adults on a food stamp case are to report certain changes. He or she must
now report changes. The changes to report within 10 days include:

+ Persons moving in or out of the home
+ Changes in employment, such as getting a job, losing or quitting a job.
+ Changes in the amount of household income:
- Unearned income that changes by $50 or more a month.
- Earned income that changes by $100 or more a month. You do not need
to report the annual change in Oregon minimum wage.
- For cases in monthly reporting, changes as required on the monthly report
form (DHS 859A).
+ When the group moves along with the shelter costs changes.
+ Changes in the legal obligation to pay child support.

e All adults in a food stamp group are asked to repay overpayments. He or she
may be asked to repay any overpayment on this case if one occurs the first of
next month or later.

Oregon Administrative Rules: 461-110-0370, 461-135-0570, 461-145-0130, 461-130-
0310, and 461-195-0541

Please contact your local office if you have any questions.

The back of this form has general information. It does not apply to this notice. You will get
another notice before changes are made in the amount of benefits.
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FSXXXXX (Child Turning age 18)
Computer initiated when a CH, IA or DP turns 18 on a case in SRS
Readability is 6.5

Our records show XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX is turning 18 this month. Per
Oregon law he or she is now an adult.

This letter is to let you know how turning 18 affects your food stamp case. You and the
child need to know:

e Food Stamps counts the earned income of all persons age 18 and older. Add the amount
of their gross earned income (before taxes) to other household income for this month.
Report if the total household income is more than $XXXX. Be sure to report all income
on the next application or Interim Change Report form (DHS 852).

e The Food Stamp program uses special rules for students. Report if this child is a student
on the next application or Interim Change Report form (DHS 852).

e The Oregon Food Stamp Employment and Transition (OFSET) program helps people
with work search activities. He or she may need to work with OFSET if they are no
longer attending school. They will get another letter if they need to do work search
activities.

¢ All adults on a food stamp case are to report certain changes. He or she must
now report changes. Report the following changes no later than the 10" day of
the month after the change occurs.

+ Report when the total income for the household goes over $XXXX in any month. This
includes both earned and unearned income before taxes.

+ Report when the mailing address changes.

+ You may report other changes if they will make the benefits go up. Examples are: the
rent goes up, a person moving into the home.

e All adults in a food stamp group are asked to repay overpayments. He or she
may be asked to repay any overpayment on this case if one occurs the first of
next month or later.

Oregon Administrative Rules: 461-110-0370, 461-135-0570, 461-145-0130, 461-130-
0310, 461-195-0541

Please contact your local office if you have any questions.

The back of this form has general information. It does not apply to this notice. You will get
another notice before changes are made in the amount of benefits.
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