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Rules: 

413-130-0000 
Purpose 
 
The purpose of these rules, OAR 413-130-0000 to 413-130-0130, is to describe the 
Department's responsibility to determine eligibility for adoption assistance for Oregon children. 
Adoption assistance for children placed into Oregon from another state is the responsibility of 
the sending state. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 418.005, 418.340 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 418.330 - 418.340 

 

Prior Version



413-130-0010 
Definitions 
 
The following definitions apply to OAR 413-130-0000 to 413-130-0130: 
 
(1) "Adoption assistance" means financial assistance and medical coverage granted to an 

adoptive family or pre-adoptive family, on behalf of an eligible adoptive child, to offset 
the costs associated with adopting and meeting the on-going needs of the child. 
Adoption assistance may include cash payments, medical coverage, an Agreement 
Only, reimbursement of nonrecurring expenses, or special payments. 

 
(2) "Adoption assistance agreement" means a written agreement, binding on the parties to 

the agreement, between the Department and the adoptive family or pre-adoptive family 
of a minor child. 

 
(3) "Adoption assistance payment" means a payment paid by the Department to the 

adoptive family or pre-adoptive family on behalf of the adoptive child. 
 
(4) "Adoption Assistance Review Committee" means a committee composed of local and 

central office staff who have expertise in the area of adoption. 
 
(5) "Adoptive family" means a family that includes at least one child who joined the family 

through a legally finalized adoption. 
 
(6) "Agreement Only" means a written agreement between the Department and the 

adoptive family or pre-adoptive family when there is no current need for adoption 
assistance benefits. An Agreement Only may be renegotiated at the request of the 
adoptive family as provided in OAR 413-130-0075, if a need arises prior to the child 
reaching 18 years of age. 

 
(7) "CANS screening" means the Child and Adolescent Needs and Strength screening, a 

process of integrating information on a child or young adult's needs and strengths for 
the purposes of case planning, service planning, and determining the supervision needs 
of the child or young adult. The Department uses two versions of the CANS 
Comprehensive Screening Tool, one for an individual birth through five years old and 
another version for an individual six through twenty years old. 

 
(8) "Certified family" means an individual or individuals who hold a current Certificate of 

Approval from the Department to provide care, in the home in which they reside, to a 
child or young adult in the care or custody of the Department. 

 
(9) "Child" means a person under 18 years of age. 
 
(10) "Department" means the Department of Human Services, Child Welfare. 
 
(11) "Enhanced supervision" means the additional support, direction, observation, and 

guidance provided by a certified family to a child or young adult to promote and ensure 
the safety and well-being of a child or young adult, beyond the level of supervision that 
typically would be required for a child or young adult of the same age. 
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(12) "Legally free" means that, with respect to a child, the legal rights of all parents with legal 
standing have been judicially terminated, voluntarily relinquished, or otherwise 
terminated by operation of law, thus allowing for the child to be adopted. 

 
(13) "Level of care" means the payment for enhanced supervision needs of a child or young 

adult to a certified family. 
 
(14) "Licensed adoption agency" means an adoption agency licensed by the state of Oregon 

to place children for adoption, or an adoption agency that holds a license from another 
state and is authorized under the laws of that state to place children for adoption. 

 
(15) "Medical coverage" means eligibility for medical services as provided through Medicaid 

in accordance with OAR 413-130-0100. 
 
(16) "Nonrecurring expenses" mean a one-time payment up to $1,500, which the 

Department may pay to a pre-adoptive family to assist with the expenses incurred in 
legally finalizing the adoption of a special needs child as provided in OAR 413-130-
0080. Nonrecurring adoption expenses are the reasonable and necessary adoption fees 
which may include the cost of a home study, court costs, attorney fees, physical and 
psychological examinations, travel to visit with the adoptive child prior to the placement, 
and other expenses which are related directly to the legal adoption of a child with 
special needs, are not incurred in violation of state or federal law, and have not been 
reimbursed from other sources or funds. 

 
(17) "Payment" means cash assistance to an adoptive family or pre-adoptive family to meet 

the child's needs. 
 
(18) "Pre-adoptive family" means an individual or individuals with a current Certificate of 

Approval to operate a home to provide care for a child placed by the Department for 
purposes of adoption. 

 
(19) "Qualified alien" means, but is not limited to, permanent residents, asylees, and 

refugees under 8 USC 1641(b). 
 
(20) "Qualified vendor attorney" means an attorney who has a price agreement with the 

Department to process the adoption of a child who is eligible for adoption assistance. 
 
(21) "Sibling" means one of two or more children related: 
 

(a) By blood or adoption through a common legal parent; 
 

(b) Through the marriage of the children's legal or biological parents; or 
 

(c) Through a legal or biological parent who is the registered domestic partner of the 
child's legal or biological parent. 

 
(22) "Special payment" means a payment for unanticipated short-term costs which are 

directly related to the child's special needs or are essential to the welfare of the child, 
and are not covered by the adoptive family's insurance or by Medicaid as negotiated 
between the Department and the family. 
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(23) "Substitute care" means the out-of-home placement of a child or young adult who is in 
the legal or physical custody and care of the Department. 

 
(24) "Tribe" means a federally recognized Indian tribe in Oregon with a Title IV-E agreement 

with the Department. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 418.005, 418.340 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 418.330 - 418.340 

 
413-130-0020 
Special Needs Determination for Adoption Assistance Eligibility 
 
A child in the custody of the Department, a tribe with a Title IV-E Agreement, or a licensed 
adoption agency in Oregon is eligible for adoption assistance when the requirements of all of 
the following sections are met: 
 
(1) The state has determined that the child cannot or should not be returned to the home of 

his or her parents. This decision is based on one of the following: 
 

(a) An order from a court of competent jurisdiction terminating parental rights; 
 

(b) The existence of a petition for termination of parental rights; 
 

(c) For a child under the jurisdiction of the court, a signed relinquishment; 
 

(d) For a child not under the jurisdiction of the court, a signed relinquishment and a 
subsequent court finding signed within six months of the date the child was last 
living with the parent that it would be contrary to the welfare of the child to return 
home at that time; or 

 
(e) In the case of an orphan, verification of the death of the parent or parents. 

 
(2) The Department determines the child has special needs, meaning the child has at least 

one of the following factors or conditions which make adoptive placement difficult to 
achieve: 

 
(a) A documented medical, physical, mental, emotional condition or other clinically 

diagnosed disability, or a documented history of abuse or neglect or other 
identified predisposing factor that places the child at risk for future problems that 
need treatment; 

 
(b) Is a member of a sibling group which will be placed together and is difficult to 

place because there are three or more children, or if in a sibling group of two, at 
least one of the children is six years of age or older; 

 
(c) Is a member of an ethnic, racial, or cultural minority (such as African American, 

Hispanic, Asian, Indian, or Pacific Islander); or 
 

(d) Is eight years of age or older. 
 
(3) A reasonable but unsuccessful effort to place the child with an appropriate adoptive 

family for adoption without assistance has been made, unless such effort is not in the 
best interests of the child. 
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 418.005, 418.340 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 418.330 - 418.340 

 
413-130-0030 
Eligibility for Nonrecurring Expenses 
 
(1) Any child who meets the eligibility criteria for adoption assistance under OAR 413-130-

0020 is eligible for reimbursement of nonrecurring expenses. 
 
(2) A child being adopted by an Oregon resident who is not the responsibility of the 

Department or an Oregon licensed adoption agency also is eligible for reimbursement of 
nonrecurring expenses if all other eligibility requirements under OAR 413-130-0020 are 
met. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 418.005, 418.340 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 418.330 - 418.340 

 
413-130-0040 
Eligibility for Adoption Assistance Payments 
 
(1) The Department makes efforts to establish Title IV-E eligibility under OAR 413-100-

0335 for any child eligible for adoption assistance under OAR 413-130-0020. Licensed 
adoption agencies must make all requested efforts to assist the Department in 
establishing Title IV-E eligibility. A child eligible for an adoption assistance payment 
under OAR 413-130-0020 who is determined ineligible for Title IV-E, is eligible for state-
funded adoption assistance. 

 
(2) A child determined eligible for an adoption assistance payment with respect to a prior 

adoption who becomes available for adoption again and continues to meet the special 
needs criteria set forth in OAR 413-130-0020, is eligible for an adoption assistance 
payment in the subsequent adoption when: 

 
(a) The prior adoption has been dissolved, and the parental rights of the adoptive 

parents have been terminated or relinquished; or 
 

(b) The child's adoptive parents have died. 
 
(3) In addition to the adoption assistance eligibility criteria under OAR 413-130-0020 and 

section (2) of this rule, a child must meet the following requirements, as applicable: 
 

(a) For adoption through a licensed adoption agency, the child must have been 
placed voluntarily with the licensed adoption agency in out-of-home care in the 
month the voluntary agreement was signed. 

 
(b) Judicial Determination Criteria. A "contrary to the welfare" or "best interest" ruling 

is not required for a child receiving SSI, or for a child whose eligibility is based on 
a foster care payment being made for the child's minor parent with whom the 
child is placed, while in foster care. For any other child, a judicial determination 
that it is "contrary to the welfare of the child to remain in the home" or is in the 
"best interest of the child to be removed from the home" must be contained in 
one of the following: 

 
(A) The first court order of removal for a child removed by court order; 
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(B) A court order signed within six months of the month the child last lived with 

a specified relative if the child's removal was via parental relinquishment 
only. Documentation of the date of the signing of the court order is 
necessary; or 

 
(C) A court order with a finding made within 180 days of the date that the child 

voluntarily entered care, and signed within six months of the date the child 
was last living with the parent. 

 
(c) The child must be a United States citizen or a qualified alien pursuant to OAR 

413-100-0210(2). 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 418.005, 418.340 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 418.330 - 418.340 

 
413-130-0045 
Child's Immigrant Status 
 
(1) The Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 

(PRWORA), Public Law 104-193, as amended, limited federal public benefits to 
qualified aliens. Adoption assistance under Title IV-E of the Act is considered a federal 
public benefit for the purposes of the PRWORA and, therefore, limited to U.S. citizens 
and qualified aliens. 

 
(2) If a substitute caregiver or adoptive parent is not a qualified alien, a child who is 

otherwise eligible under section 473 of PRWORA must meet the five-year residency 
requirement to receive Title IV-E adoption assistance as Section 403 of PRWORA 
requires a qualified alien entering the United States on or after the date of enactment of 
PRWORA (August 22, 1996), unless excepted, to live in the United States for five years 
before becoming eligible for certain federal public benefits. In accordance with section 
403(c)(2)(F) of PRWORA, however, a federal payment for adoption assistance is 
excluded from the five-year residency requirement if the child and the foster or adoptive 
parent with whom the child is placed are qualified aliens under OAR 413-130-0050. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 418.005, 418.340 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 418.330 - 418.340 

 
413-130-0050 
Availability of New Adoption Assistance and Adoption Assistance Payment 
Adjustments 
 
(1) The availability of state funds governs the adoption assistance payments which may be 

obligated. If all available adoption assistance funds are obligated, the Department 
continues to accept and process new applications and requests for adjustments in 
adoption assistance payments and establishes a waiting list. Adoption assistance 
agreements are granted in the order of the date of approval as funds become available. 
For a new adoption assistance application, an adoptive family is offered the opportunity 
to sign an Agreement Only to prevent delay in finalizing the adoption. 

 
(2) Substitute care payments end when adoption assistance payments begin. Medical 

coverage continues until the adoption assistance payment is negotiated, agreements 
are signed, and adoption assistance benefits begin. Medical coverage as provided by 
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Medicaid may continue as an adoption assistance benefit when requested by the 
adoptive family or pre-adoptive family. 

 
(3) When a child is legally free for adoption, the Department's local office staff completes 

the adoption assistance application with the pre-adoptive family and submits the 
application to the Adoption Program no later than 60 days from the date the pre-
adoptive family is selected. No later than 60 days after receipt of the completed 
adoption assistance application, the Department's Adoption Program staff must begin 
negotiation of the adoption assistance agreement. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 418.005, 418.340 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 418.330 - 418.340 

 
413-130-0060 
Agreement Only 
 
(1) An Agreement Only between the Department and the pre-adoptive family or adoptive 

family is signed when there is no current need for an adoption assistance payment or 
medical coverage, the adoptive family requests such an agreement, and the child is 
eligible for adoption assistance under OAR 413-130-0020. 

 
(2) The Agreement Only becomes effective on the date the completed adoption assistance 

agreement is approved and signed by the Department, and automatically terminates 
when the child reaches 18 years of age. 

 
(3) The adoptive family must make a written request to the Department to initiate any 

adoption assistance benefits subsequent to completing an Agreement Only. The 
adoptive family must provide documentation to the Department describing the child's 
need for services at the time an adoption assistance benefit is requested as provided in 
OAR 413-130-0075. 

 
(4) The pre-adoptive family must notify the Department in writing if the family chooses not 

to accept any form of adoption assistance benefits, including an Agreement Only. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 418.005, 418.340 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 418.330 - 418.340 

 
413-130-0070 
Determination of the Adoption Assistance Payment 
 
(1) The rate of a monthly adoption assistance payment must be negotiated between the 

Department and the pre-adoptive family, taking into consideration relevant factors which 
include, but are not limited to: 

 
(a) The special needs of the child; 

 
(b) The services required to meet the child's special needs; 

 
(c) The cost of the required services for the child; 

 
(d) The family's ability to provide the required services to the child; and 

 
(e) The resources available to the adoptive family and child in the community. 
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(2) The adoption assistance payment is negotiated prior to completion of the adoption 
assistance agreement. The adoption assistance payment may not exceed the foster 
care base rate the child would receive if he or she continued in substitute care plus, 
effective September 1, 2009, any applicable level of care payment for enhanced 
supervision as determined by a CANS screening. 

 
(3) If a child under the age of eight years meets special needs status under OAR 413-130-

0020(2) and has no documented medical, physical, mental, or emotional condition, or 
other clinically diagnosed disability, he or she receives an adoption assistance payment 
that may not exceed the foster care base rate the child would receive if he or she 
continued in substitute care, unless the pre-adoptive family enters into an Agreement 
Only. 

 
(4) An initial adoption assistance payment begins when all of the following criteria are met: 
 

(a) The child is legally free for adoption; 
 

(b) The Department or licensed adoption agency has designated the pre-adoptive 
family as the designated adoptive placement; 

 
(c) An adoption assistance agreement has been signed by the pre-adoptive family 

and by the Department representative. 
 
(5) Medicaid coverage, private insurance, public education, and all community resources 

must be considered as resources for the child and the pre-adoptive family or adoptive 
family when determining the amount of an adoption assistance payment. A child's 
income from sources such as Social Security and Veterans benefits are considered in 
determining the adoption assistance payment, but are not necessarily deducted dollar 
for dollar from the amount of the adoption assistance payment. 

 
(6) When adoptive parents divorce, legally separate, or are party to a judicially recognized 

modification of custody, the Department may request updated information, including 
financial information, to reflect the change in family circumstances. 

 
(7) Within 30 days of receipt of a request from an adoptive parent for change of payee due 

to a divorce, legal separation, or other judicially recognized modification of custody, the 
Department must notify the other adoptive parent of the request. It is the responsibility 
of the requestor to provide the Department with the other adoptive parent's current 
address and telephone number. Failure to provide such information may cause a delay 
in processing the request. The adoptive parents have 60 days from the date the 
Department sends the notice to challenge the change of payee request. If the change of 
payee is challenged, the Department requires a valid legal document describing 
physical custody of the child. Any change of payee is determined based on legal 
documentation describing the physical custody of the child. 

 
(8) An adoptive family who moves out-of-state continues to be eligible for adoption 

assistance benefits. Medical coverage for the child may change under OAR 413-130-
0100. 

 
(9) An adoption assistance payment may be retroactive to the date of the signed adoption 

assistance application if the child was legally free for adoption and in the designated 
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adoptive placement on that date, and no foster care base rate, enhanced supervision, 
or personal care services payment was made for the same period. 

 
(10) An adoption assistance payment is issued at the end of each month of eligibility. 
 
(11) An adoption assistance payment made to an adoptive family by the Department is 

inalienable by any assignment or transfer and exempt from execution, levy, attachment, 
or garnishment under the laws of this state. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 418.005, 418.340 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 418.330 - 418.340 

 
413-130-0075 
Renegotiation of an Adoption Assistance Payment 
 
(1) An adoptive family may request an increase of an adoption assistance payment through 

the Department's adoption assistance coordinator. The request for renegotiation of 
adoption assistance must be made in writing by the adoptive family and be based on 
significant change in one or more of the relevant factors set forth in OAR 413-130-
0070(1). 

 
(2) Effective September 1, 2009, renegotiation may include the consideration of: 
 

(a) The results of a CANS screening which is conducted prior to the renegotiation of 
adoption assistance when the adoptive family requests a payment higher than 
the child's foster care base rate; and 

 
(b) The adoptive family demonstrates the child's physical, mental health, behavioral, 

or developmental needs have worsened or required escalated care and 
treatment. 

 
(3) A renegotiated adoption assistance payment must be initiated pursuant to OAR 413-

130-0070. 
 
(4) A renegotiated adoption assistance payment may not exceed the total foster care base 

rate plus any applicable enhanced supervision payment that would be paid for the child 
in substitute care. 

 
(5) When the adoption assistance payment is renegotiated, a new adoption assistance 

agreement with the revised adoption assistance payment must be signed by the 
adoptive family and the Department prior to a change in the payment. 

 
(6) A renegotiated adoption assistance payment becomes effective on the first of the month 

in which the written request to renegotiate was received by the Department's Adoption 
Program. In no case may a renegotiated adoption assistance payment be paid for more 
than 12 retroactive months. 

 
(7) If, after renegotiation, the adoptive family does not agree with the renegotiated adoption 

assistance payment amount, the adoptive family may appeal the decision as provided in 
OAR 413-130-0115. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 418.005, 418.340 
Stats Implemented: ORS 418.330 - 418.340 
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413-130-0080 
Payment for Nonrecurring Expenses 
 
(1) The Department may make a one-time payment of up to $1,500 to a pre-adoptive family 

for nonrecurring expenses to assist with the costs incurred in legally finalizing the 
adoption of a special needs child. Nonrecurring expenses for adoption are the 
reasonable and necessary adoption fees, court costs, attorney fees, mediation costs, 
and other expenses which are directly related to the legal adoption of a special needs 
child. Other nonrecurring expenses may include the cost of a home study, health and 
psychological examinations, travel to visit with the adoptive child prior to the placement, 
supervision of the placement prior to adoption, and other expenses which are directly 
related to the legal adoption of a child with special needs, which are not incurred in 
violation of State or Federal law. 

 
(2) Payment for nonrecurring expenses may not duplicate expenses covered by the 

Interstate Compact for Placement of Children, a Department contract with a licensed 
adoption agency, or already covered by some other resource available to the adoptive 
family. 

 
(3) Documentation of the nonrecurring expenses is required and must be submitted prior to 

execution of the adoption assistance agreement. The agreement, indicating the nature 
and amount of the nonrecurring expenses, must be signed prior to the final decree of 
adoption. 

 
(4) The legal fees, when reimbursement is requested, are included in the nonrecurring 

expenses. It is the responsibility of the pre-adoptive family to choose a privately retained 
attorney or enter into a legal fees agreement with a qualified vendor attorney. The 
Department makes payment directly to the qualified vendor attorney after the adoption 
is finalized. For privately retained attorneys, the pre-adoptive family is responsible for 
payment, and after the adoption is finalized the Department will reimburse the family for 
reasonable charges. Reasonable charges are the current qualified vendor attorney rate, 
and only in extraordinary circumstances may a higher amount be considered. 

 
(5) Payments for nonrecurring expenses are made when the Department receives the final 

decree of adoption. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 418.005, 418.340 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 418.330 - 418.340 

 
413-130-0090 
Special Payments 
 
A special payment may be approved in exceptional cases as negotiated between the 
Department and the adoptive family. The Department may authorize a special payment for a 
limited duration, subject to the Department's discretion and availability of resources. An 
adoptive family making a request for a special payment must make documentation available to 
the Department when requested. A special payment is made to the adoptive family who then is 
responsible to reimburse the provider for the services. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 418.005, 418.340 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 418.330 - 418.340 

 
413-130-0100 
Medical Assistance 
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(1) An adoptive child who meets the requirements of OAR 413-130-0020 is eligible for 

Medicaid coverage as provided by the Department of Human Services, Division of 
Medical Assistance Programs (DMAP) under the requirements of Oregon Health Plan. 

 
(2) An adoptive child for whom Medicaid eligibility has been established is issued a medical 

identification card through DMAP. Payment for medical services will be in accordance 
with Department of Human Services administrative rules. 

 
(3) Medical coverage for a Title IV-E eligible child is provided by the medical assistance 

program in the state where the child resides: 
 

(a) If the child is placed outside the adoptive home and is eligible for federal funding 
through Title IV-E or SSI, the state in which the child resides will provide medical 
coverage in accordance with the rules of that state even if the adoptive family 
resides in a separate state. 

 
(b) If the adoptive family moves to another state or the child is placed for adoption in 

a state other than Oregon, the Department provides the documentation 
necessary to assist the adoptive family to obtain Medicaid coverage. 

 
(c) The Department provides written verification of the child's Title IV-E eligibility to 

the appropriate coordinator of the adoption assistance program in the state 
where the adoptive family is residing to facilitate Medicaid medical coverage. 

 
(4) Medical coverage for a child who is not eligible for Title IV-E is provided by DMAP under 

the rules of the Oregon Health Plan. If the child is placed in another state, or the 
adoptive family moves from Oregon to another state, the child may continue to receive 
medical coverage from Oregon, except in those cases where the other state will provide 
the Medicaid coverage (see section (3) of this rule). 

 
(5) An adoption assistance agreement must be signed by the adoptive family and the 

Department which documents that the child is eligible for adoption assistance, and that 
medical coverage has been requested. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 418.005, 418.340 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 418.330 - 418.340 

 
413-130-0110 
Administration of Approved Adoption Assistance 
 
(1) It is the responsibility of Department and licensed adoption agency staff to: 
 

(a) Notify or advise the pre-adoptive family of the availability of adoption assistance 
for an eligible child; 

 
(b) Provide the pre-adoptive family with a copy of OAR 413-130-0000 to 413-130-

0130; and 
 

(c) Assist the pre-adoptive family in making an application for adoption assistance, if 
appropriate. 
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(2) A pre-adoptive family must submit a written application for adoption assistance to the 
Adoption Program through the family's respective Department local office worker or 
licensed adoption agency worker. 

 
(3) A pre-adoptive family applying for adoption assistance must be approved by the 

respective licensed adoption agency as being a suitable adoptive family who meets all 
state standards including certification standards as provided in Child Welfare Policy I-
G.1.1, "Current Caretaker Adoption" OAR 413-120-0500 to 413-120-0550. 

 
(a) A licensed adoption agency recommending adoption assistance for an adoptive 

family is responsible to verify and document on the adoption assistance 
application that efforts were made to place the child without adoption assistance. 

 
(b) The Department local office submitting an adoption assistance application must 

assure that the adoptive placement status has been approved by the 
Department's Adoption Program. 

 
(4) Prior to the finalization of an adoption and issuance of any benefits, a written adoption 

assistance agreement must be completed that meets all of the following requirements. 
The agreement must --- 

 
(a) Be signed by each pre-adoptive parent and the Department. 

 
(b) State the duration of the agreement. 

 
(c) State the amount of adoption assistance benefits, if any, and specify: 

 
(A) The amount of the adoption assistance monthly payment, if any; and 

 
(B) The nature and amount of any other payments, services, and assistance 

to be provided, including nonrecurring expenses. 
 

(d) State that the agreement remains in effect regardless of the state of residence of 
the pre-adoptive family or adoptive family and the child. 

 
(e) State whether the child is to receive medical benefits, and specify the child's 

eligibility for Title XIX and Title XX. 
 

(f) State that Oregon Law ORS 192.520 allows the Department of Human Services' 
Oregon Health Plan (OHP) and OHP managed care plans to exchange the 
following protected health information without authorization from the pre-adoptive 
or adoptive parent for the purpose of treatment activities related to behavioral or 
physical health: 

 
(A) Name and Medicaid recipient number; 

 
(B) Name of the hospital provider or attending physician; 

 
(C) The performing provider's Medicaid number; 

 
(D) Diagnosis; 
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(E) Each date of service; 
 

(F) Procedure or Revenue code; 
 

(G) The quantity of units or services provided; and 
 

(H) Information about prescription medication and monitoring. 
 

(g) State that the pre-adoptive family or adoptive family has the right to a contested 
case hearing under Child Welfare Policy I-A.5.2, "Contested Cases" OAR 413-
010-0500 to 413-010-0535 for any denial, reduction, or suspension of adoption 
assistance benefits. 

 
(5) The initial effective date of the adoption assistance agreement is determined by the 

Department's Adoption Program, taking into consideration the request of the pre-
adoptive family and the recommendations of the licensed adoption agency or the 
Department's local office. The effective date may not be prior to the completion of a 
signed adoption assistance application, and must be effective no later than the date the 
adoption is finalized. 

 
(6) Annually, the Department's Adoption Program sends a letter to adoptive families 

requiring assurance that each child receiving a Title IV-E or non-IV-E adoption 
assistance payment is a full-time elementary or secondary school student, or is 
incapable of attending school due to a documented medical condition. 

 
(7) No adoption assistance may be provided to an adoptive parent if the adoptive parent is 

no longer legally and financially responsible for the support of the child, or the child is no 
longer receiving support from the adoptive parent. An adoptive parent is considered no 
longer legally responsible for the support of a child when parental rights have been 
terminated or when the child becomes an emancipated minor, marries, or enlists in the 
military. 

 
(8) In the case of an adopted child who becomes legally free for adoption due to the 

adoptive parent or parents' relinquishment of the child, the termination of the adoptive 
parent or parents' parental rights to the child, or the death of the adoptive parent or 
parents, the determination of eligibility of the adopted child for adoption assistance 
remains based on the eligibility of the child as if the child were in the same financial and 
other circumstances the child was in the last time the child was determined eligible for 
adoption assistance benefits. The child must meet special needs criteria under OAR 
413-130-0020 at the time the child again becomes available for adoption. (This rule is 
intended to meet the requirements of Sec. 473 (a)(2)(C) of the Social Security Act, 42 
USC 673.) 

 
(9) If a child receiving adoption assistance benefits is placed in substitute care, adoption 

assistance benefits may be adjusted, continued, or suspended. If the adoptive family is 
involved in the child's treatment, and the plan is for the child to return home, the family 
may ask to have the adoption assistance suspended, continued, or adjusted to reflect 
current expenses. The Department may suspend, continue, or adjust adoption 
assistance benefits to reflect current expenses. When the child returns to the care of the 
adoptive family, adoption assistance benefits may be reviewed upon request by the 
adoptive family. 
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(10) An adoptive family must immediately inform the Department's Adoption Program when a 
change in circumstances indicates that there is no longer a need for adoption 
assistance as provided in OAR 413-130-0110(7). 

 
(11) The Department may terminate the adoption assistance agreement upon 30 days 

written notice to the adoptive family when the child is no longer in the home, and the 
adoptive family is no longer providing support for the child. 

 
(12) An adoption assistance agreement automatically terminates, as required by Oregon 

law, when the child is 18 years old. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 418.005, 418.340 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 418.330 - 418.340 

 
413-130-0115 
Adoption Assistance Review Committee and Appeals Procedure 
 
(1) The Adoption Assistance Review Committee serves as a consultation and review body 

for the adoption assistance program. 
 

(a) Adoption Program staff may refer unusual or exceptionally costly benefit requests 
to the Adoption Assistance Review Committee for consultation; or 

 
(b) If, during negotiations of adoption assistance benefits, Adoption Program staff 

and the adoptive family or pre-adoptive family are unable to reach agreement, 
the matter may be referred to the Adoption Assistance Review Committee for 
review at the request of either Adoption Program staff or the adoptive family or 
pre-adoptive family. 

 
(2) The adoptive family or pre-adoptive family and the assigned caseworker must provide 

written documentation for the Committee's consideration. 
 
(3) The caseworker for the pre-adoptive family may participate in an Adoption Assistance 

Review Committee meeting by phone. 
 
(4) The Adoption Assistance Review Committee reviews relevant materials and provides a 

recommendation regarding level of benefits to the Department's adoption assistance 
coordinator. The Adoption Assistance Review Committee takes into consideration the 
special needs of the child and the financial circumstances of the adoptive family or pre-
adoptive family. 

 
(5) If the adoptive family or pre-adoptive family is unsatisfied with the adoption assistance 

offer made by the Adoption Assistance Review Committee, the family may request 
further review by the Department's Adoption Program Manager. 

 
(6) Requests for further review must be made in writing and received by the Department's 

Adoption Program Manager within 14 days from the date of the Adoption Assistance 
Review Committee recommendation. 

 
(7) The Adoption Program Manager reviews the material and makes a decision within 60 

days from the date of the Adoption Assistance Review Committee recommendation. 
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(8) After receipt of the Adoption Program Manager's decision, the adoptive family or pre-
adoptive family may request a contested case hearing as provided in Child Welfare 
Policy I-A.5.2, "Contested Case Hearings" OAR 413-010-0500 to 413-010-0535. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 418.005, 418.340 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 418.330 - 418.340 

 
413-130-0125 
Budgetary Reductions of Adoption Assistance 
 
Once a child is adopted and determined to be eligible for adoption assistance, an adoption 
assistance payment may not be adjusted without the agreement of the adoptive family, except 
as provided under OAR 413-130-0110(7), (11), and (12). 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 418.005, 418.340 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 418.330 - 418.340 

 
413-130-0130 
Post Finalization Applications for Adoption Assistance 
 
After the adoption has been finalized: 
 
(1) An adoptive family may request the opportunity to apply for adoption assistance based 

on the following extenuating circumstances: 
 

(a) Relevant facts regarding the child, the biological family, or child's background 
were known, but not shared with the adoptive family prior to legal finalization of 
the adoption; 

 
(b) Adoption assistance was denied based on an assessment of the financial need 

of the adoptive family; 
 

(c) The Department determined the child was ineligible for adoption assistance, but 
information becomes known which indicates it would be appropriate to review 
this determination; or 

 
(d) The Department failed to advise the adoptive family of a special needs child of 

the availability of adoption assistance. 
 
(2) An adoptive family must submit a written request to the Department's adoption 

assistance coordinator indicating the desire to apply for adoption assistance after an 
adoption has been legally finalized. 

 
(3) Upon receipt of the written request, the Department determines, within thirty days, 

whether the child meets Title IV-E eligibility requirements. 
 
(4) When an adoptive family requests that the Department provide historic information 

regarding the child to determine eligibility for adoption assistance, the Department may 
obtain non-identifying genetic, social, and health history information as provided by 
ORS 109.425 through 109.507. In addition, the Department may request a court order 
to review the sealed adoption file. 
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(5) If the Department determines that a child meets Title IV-E eligibility requirements, 
federal policy requires a contested case hearing be held before the state may provide 
adoption assistance benefits: 

 
(a) The Department's adoption assistance coordinator must write a summary of the 

situation and submit a hearing referral and appropriate documentation to the 
Office of Administrative Hearings within 45 days of receipt of the request for a 
contested case hearing. 

 
(b) An adoptive family has the burden of proof to show that extenuating 

circumstances exist. The Department may provide corroborating facts to both the 
adoptive family and the administrative law judge. 

 
(c) The contested case hearing is conducted under Child Welfare Policy I-A.5.2, 

"Contested Case Hearings" OAR 413-010-0500 to 413-010-0535. 
 

(d) If the contested case hearing decision finds that extenuating circumstances exist, 
an adoption assistance application may be signed, effective the date of the 
contested case hearing request. 

 
(6) If the Department determines that a child does not meet Title IV-E eligibility 

requirements, the Department's adoption assistance coordinator must prepare 
information for the Adoption Program Manager's review including information submitted 
by the adoptive family and information from Department records. The Adoption Program 
Manager decides if extenuating circumstances under section (1) of this rule exist which 
justify accepting an adoption assistance application from the adoptive family. 

 
(a) A written finding will be sent to the adoptive family within 30 days. 

 
(b) If the Adoption Program Manager finds that extenuating circumstances do not 

exist, the adoptive family may request a contested case hearing under Child 
Welfare Policy I-A.5.2, "Contested Case Hearings" OAR 413-010-0500 to 413-
010-0535. The administrative law judge in such a hearing reviews whether 
extenuating circumstances exist so that the adoptive family may submit an 
application for adoption assistance. Whether the adoption assistance application 
is approved is a separate determination by the Department. 

 
(7) If the decision, through a contested case hearing or Adoption Program Manager review, 

is that the adoptive family is eligible to apply for adoption assistance on behalf of the 
child, and the adoption assistance application results in the award of adoption 
assistance: 

 
(a) The adoption assistance payments (in the form of a one time lump sum payment) 

may not be retroactive for more than 12 months from the date of the signed 
adoption assistance application; and 

 
(b) If after negotiation, the adoptive family does not agree with the amount 

negotiated, the family may appeal the decision under Child Welfare Policy I-
A.5.2, "Contested Case Hearings" OAR 413-010-0500 to 413-010-0535. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 418.005, 418.340 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 418.330 - 418.340 
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