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Rules: 

 
PURPOSE 
 

413-120-0400 (1) It is the goal of the State Office for Services to Children and Families 
(SOSCF) to reduce the risk of exploitation and/or abuse of children entrusted in the care of or 
receiving services from SOSCF. Therefore, SOSCF will conduct criminal offender information 
background checks as described in these rules. 

 
(2) These rules establish  procedures by which SOSCF obtains criminal offender 

information on subject individuals who are seeking to be foster or adoptive parents of children 
in SOSCF custody, and how SOSCF applies such information to determine the suitability of 
the subject individual to be a foster or adoptive parent. 
 
 (3) These rules provide guidelines on the procedures SOSCF will use when SOSCF 
receives requests to conduct criminal offender information record checks from licensed private 
agencies who are studying adoptive families for placement of SOSCF children. 
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(4) These rules provide guidelines on the procedures SOSCF will use granting 

exceptions for subject individuals convicted of certain felony and misdemeanor crimes not 
covered under the Adoptions and Safe Families Act (ASFA). 

 
(5) These rules also provide guidelines on the procedures SOSCF will use when a 

member of a family foster home, certified prior to November 19, 1997 applies to renew a foster 
home certificate or submits an adoption application and has a disqualifying felony conviction(s) 
prior to November 19,1997. 

Statutory Authority: ORS 418.005 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.537, 181.010-181.560,  

 
SCOPE OF RULES 
 

413-120-0410 (1) Consistent with the purpose of these rules, SOSCF will issue 
decisions regarding the suitability for approval of subject individuals applying to be foster or 
adoptive parents, or other persons in the household. 
 

(2) The criminal record check rules in OAR 413-120-0400 through 413-120-0470 shall 
be construed and implemented consistent with the existing requirements in OAR 
413-120-0200 through 413-120-0230. If there is an inconsistency between these criminal 
record check rules and existing adoption requirements, the rules in OAR 413-120-0300 to 
413-120-0310 will supersede existing adoption requirements. 

Statutory Authority: ORS 418.005 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.537, 181.010-181.560 

 
DEFINITIONS 
 

413-120-0420 (1) “Administrator” means the administrator of SOSCF, who is an 
assistant director of the Department of Human Services. 
 

(2) "Adoptive Applicant" means an individual who has completed an application to 
receive placement of a child with the intent to legally adopt said child. 

 
(3) "Agency Agreement" means a written agreement between the Oregon State Police 

and a Criminal Justice or designated agency as defined by ORS 181.010 authorized to receive 
criminal offender information, specifying the terms and conditions of accessing and receiving 
Oregon computerized criminal history information to assure compliance with state and federal 
regulations. 
 

(4) "Child or Children" means a person 18 years of age or under. A person who is 
between 18 and 21 years of age, who is in SOSCF custody, is also considered a child for 
purposes of these rules.  

 
(5) "Computerized Criminal History (CCH) System" means the administration and 

maintenance of on-line computer files of significant criminal offender information by OSP. 
 
(6) "Contested Case Hearing" means a quasi-judicial hearing before an impartial 

hearing officer in which the complainant and/or his or her representative may present all 
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pertinent facts and evidence in order to show why the action or inaction of SOSCF should be 
reconsidered. As a result of the hearing, the hearings officer reports findings and 
recommendations to the SOSCF Administrator, who makes a final order on the matter. 

 
(7) "Criminal Offender Information" means records, including fingerprints and 

photographs, received, compiled and disseminated by the Oregon State Police for purposes of 
identifying criminal offenders and alleged offenders and maintained as to such persons' 
records of arrest, the nature and disposition of criminal charges, sentencing, confinement and 
release, and includes the OSP Computerized Criminal History System. 
 

(8) "Designated Agency" means any DHS division or Administrator’s Office, where 
applicable, required to access Oregon criminal offender information to implement a federal or 
state statute, executive order or administrative rule that expressly refers to criminal conduct 
and contains requirements or exclusions expressly based on such conduct, or for agency 
employment purposes, or licensing purposes or other demonstrated and legitimate needs 
when designated by order of the Governor. 
 

(9) “DHS Division" means a division of the Department of Human Services and the 
Director’s Office, where applicable, which accesses criminal offender information as a 
designated agency or a criminal justice agency, and requests fingerprint-based criminal 
offender information from the FBI on persons or programs who provide care or treatment to 
children as regulated by that DHS division. 
 

(10)"Division" means the State Office for Services to Children and Families of the 
Department of Human Services. 
 

(11) "FBI" means the Federal Bureau of Investigation. 
 

(12) "Family Foster Home" refers to any certified foster family, kinship, shelter home, 
or family group home, which is maintained and lived in by a person who cares for any 
child(ren) unattended by parents or guardian for the purpose of providing the child(ren) with 
care, food and lodging. 

 
(13) "Fee" means the charges assessed any DHS division, or the DHS Director’s 

Office, by SOSCF for processing each criminal offender information record check and/or 
fingerprint-based criminal offender record check request. 
 

(14) "Fingerprint-Based Criminal Offender Information" means criminal offender 
information compiled and maintained by the Bureau of Criminal Identification regarding 
persons who have been arrested for crimes where law enforcement agencies have submitted 
fingerprints and other identifying data as required by ORS 181.515 and/or federal statutes, or 
as deemed appropriate by the submitting law enforcement agency for the purpose of 
identification. 
 

(15) "Foster Parent" refers to a provider certified under OAR 413-200-0100 through 
413-200-0230. 
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(16) "Information Required" means all information requested by the State Office for 
Services to Children and Families for processing criminal record checks, including fingerprint 
checks. 
 

(17) "OSP" means the Oregon State Police. 
 

(18) "Other Person in Household" means a person 18 years of age or older living in 
the home or assisting in the home to enrich the care provided to children placed in the home 
by tutoring, providing recreation, relief care or other services such as household chores, 
whether paid or unpaid. It also means a member of the household under 18 years of age if 
there is reason to believe that member may pose a risk to children placed in the home. 
 

(19) "Private Adoption Agency" means an agency licensed by the State of Oregon to 
provide adoption services within the state and which contracts with SOSCF to study adoptive 
parents seeking to adopt children in the custody of SOSCF. 
 

(20) "SOSCF" means the State Office for Services to Children and Families. 
Statutory Authority: ORS 418.005 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.537, 181.010-181.560 

 
SUBJECT INDIVIDUALS 
 

413-120-0430 (1) For purposes of this rule, "Subject Individual" means a person who, 
as of the effective date of these rules: 
 

(a) Applies to adopt a child in the custody of SOSCF as described in OAR 413-
120-0200 through 413-120-0230 and 413-120-0300 through 413-120-0310, or 

 
(b) Applies to be a foster parent as described in OAR 413-200-0100 through 413-

200-0230, or 
 

(c) Is an other person in household as described in 413-120-0420(18), or 
 

(d) Is a kinship care resource as described in 413-200-0140(20), or  
 

(e) Is a member of household as described in 413-200-0140(23), or 
 

(f) Is a volunteer as described in OAR 413-200-0140(34). 
 

 (2) Adoptive applicants who have been certified as foster parents and who have 
submitted to a criminal history check within the last 12 months will be exempt from a criminal 
records check at the time they apply to adopt. 

Statutory Authority: ORS 418-005 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.537, 181.010-181.560 

 
LIMITATIONS OF INQUIRIES 
 

413-120-0440 (1) Only SOSCF employees who have been fingerprinted and cleared by 
the Oregon State Police shall access or have access to criminal offender information pursuant 
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to a valid agency agreement. All such information shall be handled in compliance with the 
agency agreement and rules and procedures of the Oregon State Police relating to the criminal 
offender information (OAR 257-10-010 to 257-10-050). It is the responsibility of SOSCF to 
assure strict compliance with federal and state laws, rules and procedures regarding criminal 
offender information access and dissemination. 

 
(2) Criminal offender information obtained from OSP and/or the FBI will not be used for 

any purpose other than that for which it was obtained nor given to unauthorized persons or 
agencies. 

 
(3) Criminal offender information, including fingerprint-based criminal offender 

information, shall be obtained by SOSCF to ascertain whether a subject individual has been 
convicted of a crime which is substantially related to their qualifications as an adoptive parent 
or as a foster parent. 

Statutory Authority: OAR 418.005 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.537, 181.010-181.560 

 
CRIMES TO BE CONSIDERED 
 

413-120-0450 (1) SOSCF has determined that persons who engage in certain criminal 
conduct may not be qualified to be foster or adoptive parents because such conduct is 
fundamentally inconsistent with any responsibility for care, treatment or supervision of children 
or other vulnerable persons.  Unless an exception is allowed under these rules, convictions for 
crimes listed in this section or a false statement about a conviction for any of the listed crimes 
may disqualify a subject individual from being approved as a foster or adoptive parent. 
 

(2) SOSCF will not issue or renew a foster home certificate or approve an adoption 
application if the subject individual has been convicted in Oregon or any other jurisdiction of a 
felony crime except as provided in 413-120-0450(4): 

 
(a) Involving child abuse or neglect; 
 
(b) Against children; 

 
(c) Involving spousal abuse; 

 
(d) Involving violence, except assault or battery; 

 
(e) These felonies include, but are not limited to, the following crimes under 

Oregon law or substantially similar crimes in Oregon or any other jurisdiction: 
 

162.155 Escape in the second degree, if the offense involves the use or 
threatened use of physical force 

 
162.165 Escape in the first degree, if the offense involves the use or threatened 

use of physical force or a dangerous or deadly weapon 
 
162.325 Hindering prosecution, if the crime involves the use of force  
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163.095 Aggravated murder 
 

163.115 Murder 
 

163.118 Manslaughter in the first degree 
 

163.125 Manslaughter in the second degree 
163.145 Criminally negligent homicide 

 
163.160 Assault in the fourth degree, if the victim is a spouse or a child and the 

person has previously been convicted of assaulting the same victim 
 

163.165 Assault in the third degree, if the victim is a child or a spouse 
 

163.175 Assault in the second degree, if the victim is a child or a spouse 
 

163.185 Assault in the first degree, if the victim is a child or a spouse 
 

163.205 Criminal mistreatment in the first degree, if the victim is a child or if the 
crime involves violence 

 
163.213 Unlawful use of an electrical stun gun, tear gas or mace in the first 

degree 
 

163.225 Kidnapping in the second degree, if the victim is a child or spouse or if 
the crime involves violence 

 
163.235 Kidnapping in the first degree, if the victim is a child or spouse or if the 

crime involves violence 
 

163.355 Rape in the third degree 
 

163.365 Rape in the second degree 
 

163.375 Rape in the first degree 
 

163.385 Sodomy in the third degree 
 

163.395 Sodomy in the second degree 
 

163.405 Sodomy in the first degree 
 

163.408 Unlawful sexual penetration in the second degree 
 

163.411 Unlawful sexual penetration in the first degree 
 

163.425 Sexual abuse in the second degree 
 

163.427 Sexual abuse in the first degree 
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163.525 Incest, if the victim of the offense is a child 

 
163.535 Abandonment of a child 
163.537 Buying or selling a person under 18 years of age 

 
163.547 Child neglect in the first degree 

 
163.555 Criminal nonsupport 

 
163.670 Using a child in display of sexually explicit conduct 

 
163.684 Encouraging child sexual abuse in the first degree 

 
163.686 Encouraging child sexual abuse in the second degree 

 
163.688 Possession of materials depicting sexually explicit conduct of a child in 

the first degree 
 

163.689 Possession of materials depicting sexually explicit conduct of a child in 
the second degree 

 
164.125 Theft of services, if the theft is by force for services valued at $750 or 

more 
 

164.225 Burglary in the first degree, if the offense involves violence 
 

164.395 Robbery in the third degree 
 

164.405 Robbery in the second degree 
 

164.415 Robbery in the first degree 
 

166.015 Riot 
 

166.165 Intimidation in the first degree 
 

166.220 Unlawful use of weapon 
 

167.017 Compelling prostitution 
 

(3) SOSCF will not issue or renew a foster home certificate or approve an adoption 
application if a subject individual has been convicted of a felony, within the five years 
preceding application to be a foster or adoptive parent, except as provided in 413-120-0450(4), 
involving: 

 
(a) A crime of physical assault or battery; or 

 
(b) A drug-related offense. 
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(c) These felonies include, but are not limited to, the following crimes currently 

listed under Oregon law or substantially similar crimes in Oregon or any other 
jurisdiction: 

 
163.160 Assault in the fourth degree, if person previously convicted of assaulting 

same victim or assault witnessed by child/step child of defendant or victim or other child 
living in household of defendant or victim 

 
163.165 Assault in the third degree, not involving a child or a spouse 

 
163.175 Assault in the second degree, not involving a child or a spouse 

 
163.185 Assault in the first degree, not involving a child or a spouse 
 
167.212 Tampering with drug records 

 
167.262 Adult using minor in commission of controlled substance offense (for 

controlled substance other than less than 5 grams of marijuana) 
 

475.992 Subsection (1) Manufacture or delivery of Schedule I, II or III counterfeit 
substance 

 
Subsection (2) Delivery of marijuana for consideration 

 
Subsection (3) Creation or delivery of Schedule I, II or III counterfeit 

substance 
 

Subsection (4) Possession of Schedule I or II controlled substance 
 

475.993 Prohibited acts for registrants related to Schedule I controlled substance 
 

475.995 Distribution of Schedule I, II or III controlled substances to minors 
 

475.999 Manufacture or delivery of Schedule I, II or III controlled substance 
within 1000 feet of school 

 
(4) No exceptions may be granted to the prohibitions contained in subsections (2) and 

(3) except, if a family foster home was certified or approved as an adoptive home before 
November 19, 1997, SOSCF may place additional children in the home, renew the family’s 
foster home certificate or approve the home as an adoptive placement if the Administrator or 
the Administrator’s designee has determined that: 
 

(a) Denial of the renewal or adoption application would result in the disruption of 
a child(ren)’s placement or prevent future substitute care or adoptive placements of the 
child(ren)’s siblings; and 
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(b) The certification, adoption or licensing file for the foster family, adoptive family 
or relative placement contains documentation that safety considerations with respect to 
the foster family, adoptive family, relative or caretaker(s) have been addressed. 

 
(5) Unless an exception is granted as provided in OAR 413-120-0450(7), SOSCF will 

not issue or renew a foster home certificate or approve an adoption application if the subject 
individual has been convicted of any felony or misdemeanor. 
 
Approval authority for criminal record exceptions (where exceptions are allowed) shall be as 
follows: 
 

(a) For all misdemeanor convictions, branch manager or branch manager 
designee approval is required; 

 
(b) For all felony convictions, branch manager or branch manager designee 

approval and regional administrator or regional administrator designee approval is 
required. 

 
(6) SOSCF may grant an exception (where exceptions are allowed) and document that 

exception on a Request for Exception to a Rule form (CF 117) if, based upon the following, 
SOSCF determines that the subject individual possesses the qualifications to be a foster or 
adoptive parent despite a criminal record: 

 
(a) The severity and nature of the crime; 

 
(b) The number of criminal offenses; 
 
(c) The time elapsed since commission of the crime; 

 
(d) The circumstances surrounding the crime; 

 
(e) The subject individual’s participation in counseling, therapy, education or 

employment evidencing rehabilitation or a change in behavior; and 
 

(f) A review of the police or arrest report confirms the subject individual’s 
explanation of the crime. 

 
(7) Where allowed, exceptions for a specific misdemeanor or felony conviction need 

only be granted one time for a specific subject individual. 
 
(8) Granting an exception for a specific misdemeanor or felony crime does not establish 

a precedent for other cases in which the same crime is being considered. 
 

(9) Criminal History Arrests: 
 

(a) A history of arrests may raise concerns about a subject individual’s suitability 
to be a foster or adoptive parent.  If a subject individual has a history of arrest(s) for any 
of the following, the branch must assess whether the subject individual meets the 
qualifications to be a foster or adoptive parent: 
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(A) Child abuse or neglect; 

 
(B) Spousal abuse; 

 
(C) A crime against children, including pornography; 

 
(D) A crime involving violence, including rape, sexual abuse, 

manslaughter or homicide; 
 

(E) Physical assault; 
 

(F) Battery; 
 

(G) Drug or alcohol offenses; and 
 
(H) Weapons-related offenses. 

 
(b) If a subject individual has been arrested (not convicted) for any of the crimes 

listed in these rules, the supervisor and caseworker/certifier, in consultation with the 
branch manager, must assess the suitability of the subject individual to be a foster or 
adoptive parent and document their findings. Documentation shall indicate that they 
have considered the arrest(s), give information about the issues considered and state 
their decision with regards to the suitability of the subject individual to be a foster or 
adoptive parent.  The supervisor and caseworker shall consider the following when 
assessing the suitability of a subject individual who has been arrested for one of the 
crimes listed under this subsection: 

 
(A) The severity and nature of the crime; 

 
(B) The number of arrests in the subject individual’s history; 

 
(C) The time elapsed since the arrest(s); 

 
(D) The circumstances surrounding the arrest(s); 
 
(E) Whether the subject individual was charged or indicted for a crime 

related to the arrest; 
 

(F) If applicable, whether the subject individual has participated in 
counseling, therapy, educational or employment opportunities since the arrest(s); 

 
(G) The relationship between the circumstances of the arrest and the 

subject individual’s ability to meet the qualifications of a foster or adoptive parent; 
 

(c) The supervisor and worker may also obtain and review a copy of the police 
report of the arrest and interview the subject individual about the arrest. 
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(10)  Under no circumstances will SOSCF bar or refuse to approve an individual 
because of the existence or contents of a juvenile record that has been expunged pursuant to 
ORS 419A.260 or 419A.262. 
 Statutory Authority: ORS 418.005 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.537, 181.010-181.560 
 
PROCEDURES 
 

413-120-0460 (1) Any subject individual applying to be a foster or adoptive parent and 
all other persons in the household of the subject individual, shall consent to a fingerprint-based 
criminal offender information records check.  All applicants shall be notified of this requirement 
at the time they apply for foster home certification or adoptive approval. Criminal record check 
consent forms shall contain a notice that applicants for foster home certification or adoption 
approval are subject to a fingerprint-based criminal offender information records check that will 
be conducted as required by ORS 181.537 and ORS 181.557. 
 

(2) SOSCF shall not certify or approve a subject individual if the subject individual or a 
person in the household of the subject individual refuses to be fingerprinted.  SOSCF may 
deny certification or approval of an adoption application if the subject individual or a person in 
the household of the subject individual makes a false statement about having been convicted 
of any of the crime(s). 

 
(3) Subject individuals shall provide all information required for a criminal offender 

information records check, including fingerprints where required, on forms and fingerprint cards 
provided by SOSCF and according to procedures established by SOSCF, including: 
 

(a) Two properly completed FBI fingerprint cards (FD 258) with red overprinting 
in the reason fingerprinted block from the subject individual and other persons in the 
household; 

 
(b) A properly completed and signed form CF 1011F from the subject individual 

and other persons in the household; 
 
(c) If the subject individual or other person in the household acknowledges a 

prior conviction for a crime listed in these administrative rules, an explanation of the 
relationship of the facts that support the conviction and all intervening circumstances 
and authorization for SOSCF to verify the information; 

 
(4) As part of the consent to a criminal records check, SOSCF may request subject 

individuals or other persons in the household to consent to the use of their social security 
numbers in conducting the criminal record check.  Subject individuals will indicate their consent 
by their signatures. 
 

(5) SOSCF shall request criminal offender information on subject individuals from OSP 
and FBI as follows: 

 
(a) If the subject individual has disclosed, or their Oregon record indicates that 

they now live or have lived outside the State of Oregon anytime during the five years 
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prior to application, SOSCF shall instruct OSP to conduct a fingerprint criminal offender 
records check through the FBI; 

 
(b) If the subject individual has disclosed a conviction for a crime, SOSCF shall 

instruct OSP to conduct a fingerprint-based criminal offender records check through the 
FBI; 

 
(c) If the subject individual's Oregon record indicates a conviction for a crime, 

SOSCF shall forward the fingerprint cards to OSP for a positive identification verification 
prior to issuing a denial and may instruct OSP to conduct a fingerprint criminal offender 
records check through the FBI. 

 
(6) SOSCF shall forward fingerprint cards of other persons in the household to OSP for 

a positive identification verification as follows: 
 

(a) If the other person in the household has disclosed, or their Oregon record 
indicates, that they now live or have lived outside the state of Oregon anytime during 
the five years prior to the subject individual’s application; 

 
(b) If the other person in the household has disclosed a conviction for a crime; 

 
(c) If the other person in the household’s Oregon record indicates a conviction for 

a crime, the positive identification verification must be obtained prior to issuing a denial. 
 

(7) No applicant for certification as a foster parent or approval as an adoptive parent will 
be provisionally approved prior to initiation of the criminal record check process, including 
fingerprint-based criminal offender checks where required for the applicant and under ORS 
181.557, for any other persons in the household of the applicant. 
 

(8) SOSCF will review the criminal offender information, including fingerprint- based 
criminal offender information, of subject individuals seeking certification as a foster parent or 
seeking to adopt, and under ORS 181.557 for other persons in the household. A statement of 
the assessment of suitability, based on the criminal history and reflecting the decision-making 
criteria, shall be filed in the foster home certification record or the adoption record.  The LEDS 
reports must not be filed in these records and must be destroyed within 90 days. A denial of 
the application or certification, based on criminal history, will be considered preliminary until 
the applicant has been given notice of an opportunity to challenge the criminal record report, or 
to request a contested case hearing pursuant to OAR 413-120-0460.  A finding of suitability 
based on criminal history is only one factor SOSCF will use in deciding whether to approve a 
foster or adoptive parent.  The final determination to grant or deny certification based solely on 
criminal history, will be made by the SOSCF Administrator or designee.  Criminal offender 
information received from the OSP or the FBI is confidential and shall not be released to 
unauthorized persons or agencies. 

 
(9) Subject individuals who have been determined not suitable to be certified or 

approved as an adoptive resource pursuant to these rules shall be denied approval for 
adoption of a child in the custody of SOSCF. 
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(10) SOSCF shall revoke a foster home certificate, deny a renewal application, or 
remove from consideration an approved family foster home or approved adoption applicant if 
the subject individual or a person in the household of the subject individual is convicted of a 
crime in Oregon or any other jurisdiction as listed in 413-120-0450(2) and (3) since the time of 
their last certification or approval. 
 

(11) If SOSCF determines that the subject individual is not suitable for foster care 
certification or adoption approval based on criminal history or false statement on the 
application related to criminal history, unless the subject individual voluntarily withdraws from 
the process, the SOSCF branch or regional office will notify the subject individual, via certified 
mail, that the subject individual: 

 
(a) Has a right to inspect and challenge their Oregon criminal offender 

information through the Oregon State Police procedures as adopted per ORS 181.555 
(3) and OAR 257-10-035; 

 
(b) May challenge the accuracy or completeness of any entry on the subject 

individual's criminal records provided by the FBI by filing a challenge with the Assistant 
Director of the FBI Identification Division, Washington, DC, 20537-9700; and 

 
(c) May appeal SOSCF's determination of unsuitability, and/or indicate an intent 

to challenge information in the OSP or FBI report, by requesting a contested case 
hearing pursuant to ORS 183.413 to 183.470 and OAR 413-120-0470 provided that 
SOSCF receives their request for a contested case hearing in writing within 10 calendar 
days of mailing the notice. After said 10 days have elapsed, SOSCF will inform the 
SOSCF branch certifier or adoption worker or private agency adoption worker that 
either: 

 
(A) The subject individual has been notified that they are not suitable for 

approval for foster care certification or adoption based on criminal history or false 
statement in the application about criminal history and that the worker may not 
approve the certification or adoption application because the subject individual 
has waived, or timely declined, to exercise their right to a contested case hearing 
regarding their suitability; or 

 
(B) The subject individual has requested a contested case hearing and 

that the branch will be notified of the subject individual's suitability for certification 
upon issuance of the hearing decision. 

 
(12) Upon SOSCF's determination that an applicant for foster care certification or 

adoption of a child in the custody of SOSCF is not suitable based on the criminal history of a 
person in the household or false statement of criminal history of a person in the household,  
the certifier, branch adoption worker, or private agency adoption worker shall: 

 
(a) Inform the person in the household whose record was reviewed of the right to 

inspect and challenge their Oregon criminal offender information through OSP 
procedures as adopted per ORS 181.555 (3) and OAR 257-10-035 and their rights 
under ORS 181.557 (2)(b); 
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 (b) Inform the foster care or adoption applicant whose approval is affected by the 
other person's criminal history or false statement about criminal history, via certified 
mail, that: 

 
(A) SOSCF may not approve the foster care or adoption applicant as long 

as the other person remains in the household or has contact with children in the 
home based on the information contained in the criminal record check about the 
other person or the person's false statement about criminal history; and 

 
 (B) The foster care or adoption applicant may appeal in a contested case 
hearing SOSCF's determination of unsuitability based on the criminal history or 
false statement of criminal history concerning a person in the home, provided 
that SOSCF receives the applicant's request for a contested case hearing in 
writing within 10 calendar days of the date of mailing the notice to the applicant. 

 
(13) The SOSCF foster care certifier or branch adoption worker or private adoption 

agency worker shall, after said 10 days have elapsed, either: 
 

(a) Notify the foster care or adoption applicant that they are not suitable for 
approval for placement of a child in the custody of SOSCF based on criminal history of 
a person in the household, or false statement in the application of the other person, and 
that SOSCF may not approve the applicant because the applicant has waived or timely 
declined to exercise their right to a contested case hearing regarding their suitability; or 

 
 (b) Notify the foster care or adoption applicant that since he or she has requested 
a contested case hearing, the branch will be notified of the applicant's suitability for 
certification upon issuance of the hearing decision. 

 
(14) SOSCF will charge all DHS divisions and the Director’s Office a fee in an amount 

not to exceed the actual cost of acquiring and processing criminal offender information, 
including fingerprint-based criminal offender information records checks. The total fee charged, 
per request, shall be determined as follows: 

 
(a) A fee of $15 shall be charged for each criminal record check request 

processed by SOSCF when the record check is requested by another DHS division; 
 

(b) An additional fee of $12 shall be charged when SOSCF must forward fingerprint 
cards to OSP;  

 
(c) An additional fee of $24 shall be charged when SOSCF must forward 

fingerprint cards through OSP to the FBI. 
Statutory Authority: ORS 418.005 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.537, 181.010-181.560 

 
RIGHTS FOR REVIEW AND CONTESTED CASE HEARINGS 
 
413-120-0470 (1) SOSCF shall conduct contested case hearings per ORS 183.413 to 
183.470, and in accordance with DHS rules OAR 410-007-0010 through 410-007-0185 (for 
criminal records), and afford foster care or adoption applicants the right to appeal a decision 
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made by SOSCF that the applicant is not suitable for approval for placement of a child in the 
custody of SOSCF based on an authorized criminal offender information records check, or a 
false statement concerning such criminal records check of the applicant or other person in the 
household. Applicants must notify SOSCF in writing of their request for a contested case 
hearing within 10 calendar days after the notice is mailed by SOSCF to the applicant. 

 
(2) SOSCF has no jurisdiction in a contested case hearing over allegations that the 

criminal offender information received from OSP or the FBI is inaccurate, incomplete or 
maintained in violation of any federal or state law. 

 
(3) SOSCF is entitled to rely on the criminal offender information supplied by OSP or the 

FBI until OSP or the FBI notifies SOSCF that information has been changed or corrected. If a 
subject individual has timely requested a contested case hearing, SOSCF will stay the hearing 
until the subject individual has been afforded a reasonable time to correct or complete the 
record, or has declined to do so. 
 

(4) To preserve the confidentiality of the records and the privacy of the subject 
individual, any contested case hearing under this rule will not be open to the public. 
 

(5) Prior to a contested case hearing being scheduled, a mandatory pre-hearing 
conference between SOSCF, the subject individual and their legal representation shall be 
convened to review all available information and determine the need for a contested case 
hearing. At the pre-hearing conference, the subject individual must verify whether they have 
used their right to inspect or challenge their criminal offender information record(s) or have 
declined to do so. 

 
(6) The issues at a contested case hearing shall be limited to: 

 
(a) Whether the subject individual or other person in the household has made a 

false statement in the application as to the non-conviction of a crime, or has refused to 
consent to the criminal records check, or refused to be fingerprinted; or 

 
(b) Whether the criminal offender information provided to SOSCF by OSP or the 

FBI describes any crime which SOSCF has determined is relevant to the risk of 
exploitation and/or abuse or safety of children; and 

 
(c) If the subject individual seeks foster care certification or adoption approval 

and the subject individual and other persons in the household have admitted the 
commission of a crime which SOSCF has determined is relevant to the risk of 
exploitation and/or abuse or safety to children, whether the relationship between the 
facts which support the conviction and all intervening circumstances would permit the 
subject individual to be approved by SOSCF. 
 

 (7) Fingerprint cards required for evidence in a contested case shall be destroyed by 
SOSCF when the contested case hearing procedure is concluded and final, including any 
appellate procedures. 

Statutory Authority: ORS 418.005 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.537, 181.010-181.560, 409.015 

 

Prior Version



 

Contact(s): 

 Name: Harry Gilmore; Phone: 503-945-6685 
 
 

Policy History 

 12/29/95 (not available electronically) 

 03/22/99 (not available electronically) 

 01/14/00 

 07/01/01 

 09/13/02 thru 03/12/03 

 03/13/03 

 01/28/05 thru 07/27/05 

 07/28/05 

 01/01/08 thru 05/14/08 

 05/15/08 

 10/01/08 thru 03/30/09 

 02/02/09 

 12/28/11 thru 06/25/12 

Prior Version

http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/childwelfare/manual_history/i-g14final_1-14-00.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/childwelfare/manual_history/i-g14final_7-1-01.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/childwelfare/manual_history/i-g14temp_9-13-02.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/childwelfare/manual_history/i-g14final_3-13-03.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/childwelfare/manual_history/i-g14temp_1-28-05.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/childwelfare/manual_history/i-g14final_7-28-05.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/childwelfare/manual_history/i-g14temp_1-01-08.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/childwelfare/manual_history/i-g14final_5-15-08.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/childwelfare/manual_history/i-g14temp_10-1-08.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/childwelfare/manual_history/i-g14final_2-02-09.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/childwelfare/manual_history/i-g14temp_12-28-11.pdf



