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What is the Job Participation Incentive? 

The Job Participation Incentive (JPI) is an additional $10 food benefit for working parents receiving SNAP that 
boosts their ability to meet the nutritional needs of their families. It's considered a TANF related expense and will 
help Oregon meet the TANF federal participation rates (currently facing penalties). 

 
Who Qualifies for JPI? 

JPI eligibility is determined at certification, re-certification, when processing the interim change report (852), and 
when cases transition off TANF. Clients must meet ALL the below requirements: 

 One or two parent household with a dependent child under 18 who is on the same case. 

 Case is in the CRS, SRS or TBA reporting system. Must be coded with EML, SEC, SEN or HCW for SRS 
& CRS cases. For cases in TBA, there might not be any income coded. 

 Parent(s) working a specific minimum average of hours per week at Oregon’s minimum wage. 

 Single parent with child under age 6: Average minimum is 20 hours per week (coded as JPI) 

 Single parent with child age 6 to under 18: Average minimum is 30 hours per week (coded as JP2) 

 Two parent household of child under 18 and not receiving ERDC benefits: A combined average of 35 
hours per week (code as J82)  

 Two parent household of child under 18 and receiving ERDC benefits: A combined average of 55 hours 
per week (code at J82) 

 

What else should I know? 

 SNAP clients not eligible for JPI are those receiving TANF or SFPSS, and cases without a parent of a child 
under 18. 

 Weekly work hours will be calculated in addition to the income calculation. 

 Must verify client actually (not projected) worked the average minimum hours for 2 consecutive weeks 
within the last 60 days. Verified through pay stubs, time cards, letter (or phone call) from the employer or 
DHS JPI Work Verification form #7846. 

 Client is eligible for JPI benefit in the month the work verification is received. 

 Calculating work hours: 

 Round calculated hours to the nearest hour (e.g. 19.4 hrs = 19 hrs; 19.5 hrs = 20 hrs) 

 If paid weekly, divide by 2 weeks.  

 If paid twice a month and have 1 pay stub, divide by 2.15.  

 If paid twice a month and have 2 pay stubs, divide by 4.3.  

 For SEN and SEC, divide monthly gross income by Oregon minimum wage and then divide by 4.3. 

 SNAP households can only receive one monthly JPI payment. 

 JPI is not prorated ─ always $10 per month unless issuing retro benefits. 

 Other than the initial month, JPI is always issued on the 1st of the month. 

 Coding is needed on both the UCMS and FSMIS screens.  

 Clients exiting TANF and going in to TBA should be considered for JPI benefits.  

 If a JPI client becomes eligible for TANF, a timely closure notice is necessary to end JPI. However, do not 
delay TANF determination. 

 As a food benefit, it does not count as income for any other DHS programs and has the same USDA 
restrictions as other SNAP benefits. 

 Clients will not need additional EBT accounts/cards to access the benefit. 


